Fire Department Elm Street Southbridge
- Fire Department Elm Street Southbridge
View of the Southbridge Fire Department Headquarters on Elm Street, looking west. Architects on the project were: George Clemence; H. A. Haricot; Gilbert M Parks; and George L. Winter. A two-story brick construction with dormers and a bell tower, the building has Romanesque windows and doorways. Additions have been added in 1940 and 1961. Officially known as No. 1 Engine House, constructed in 1899 and inscribed on bell tower. According to "Southbridge: A Souvenir", published by the Ladies' Circle and YPCA of the First Universalist Society of Southbridge "The building for the Centre companies is in process of erection on Elm street and will cost upwards of $25,000, including land. The uniformed members of the department and a ladder truck are depicted in front of the Fire Department. An historic location, formerly, the site housed the tavern where the new town was planned, the Freeman blacksmith shop, the ancient elm tree planted by Mrs Freeman returning from horse riding, from a switch or sapling elm she had used as a whip.
- Jacob Edwards Library
- Collection (local):
Photographic Collection of the Jacob Edwards Library
Southbridge (Mass.)--Fire Department--Pictorial works
Southbridge (Mass.)--Pictorial works
Historic buildings--New England
Rights status not evaluated.
Contact host institution for more information.
On back of original photo is stamped John Serleto, Southbridge, Mass. Is part of a photographic collection at Jacob Edwards Library, Southbridge, Massachusetts. http://www.jacobedwardslibrary.org