The Doctor Franklin Perkins School and former Mrs. Iver Johnson estate
- The Doctor Franklin Perkins School and former Mrs. Iver Johnson estate
This elegant estate on North Main Street was built in 1910 as a country home for Mrs. Iver Johnson. Her late husband was well known for the manufacture of firearms and bicycles and, in 1894, had opened a retail sporting-goods store in Fitchburg. In 1934, the estate became the Dr. Franklin Perkins School, serving a wide range of clientele in a nurturing and homelike environment. The facility has been expanded several times over the years.
- Lancaster Historical Society
- Collection (local):
Photo Archives of the Lancaster (MA) Historical Society
Perkins School (Lancaster, Mass.)
- 1 photograph
Rights status not evaluated. You may contact host institution for more information.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives License (CC BY-NC-ND).
- Notes (date):
Date supplied by cataloger.
Title from item or accompanying materials.
Published in: Images of America, Lancaster / Heather Maurer Lennon. Charleston, SC ; Chicago IL ; Portsmouth NH ; San Francisco CA. : Arcadia Publishing, 2001