Thomas Mayhew house built in 1636. Located at what is now the beginning of Charles River Road. Thomas Mayhew, the father was the owner of the grist mill and a merchant. He owned 150 acres on the south side of the Charles River. Thomas Mayhew, the son, was a scholar and soon after moving to Martha's Vineyard, preached to the Indians. After his drowning, his father and sons took over the religious teachings. Thomas Mayhew, the father, built the first bridge over the Charles River - it was a foot bridge.