Hotel Columbia Southbridge Massachusetts with view of the alley
- Hotel Columbia Southbridge Massachusetts with view of the alley
With its name carved in stone as well as one a flat belt sign, the Hotel Columbia is well announced. A double-fronted premises, each window on street level has a signs for 'hotel'. There is a separate entrance at the east side, to the upper stories. The building is shown as a three story structure on Main Street, but has four stories, including a cellar, when viewed from the side. Retractable striped awnings adorn each of the windows facing Main Street. Built in 1867, the carpenter was Leonard Cutler. Two boys are standing in the alley, at the west side. The adjacent building to the right, is the distinctive Goodwin building. Thomas F. Murphy, born in Brookfield, MA, February 22, 1858, was the well known, owner and manager of the hotel. Since 1893, Mr. Murphy has worked in the hotel business, and came to Southbridge in 1904 and purchased the Hotel Columbia. "He is the sole owner and has personally managed the hotel, his wide experience and popularity developing a very extensive and lucrative patronage. This hotel has forty rooms and a restaurant for its guests, and is a leading hostelry of Southbridge. Mr. Murphy's genial spirit and cordial manner have made for him countless friends, and he has contrived also to keep the home atmosphere, which is so grateful to the traveling public. He is interested in all local affairs, is a member of the Southbridge Chamber of Commerce and takes a deep interest in all that contributes to the general welfare. He is affiliated with the American Hotel Association, his fraternal connection is with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and his clubs are the Southbridge and Quinebaug. For years he has been one of the executive committee of five of the Worcester South Agricultural Society, having charge of the annual fair. He has given a great deal of time and money to the promotion and success of this society. Mr. Murphy attends St. Mary's Roman Catholic Church. Thomas F. Murphy married (first), in 1888, Margaret Blake, who died in 1910, leaving two children: William B., born in July, 1894, who served in the World War as a second lieutenant in the United States Army; and Helen W., born in 1897, now active as a nurse in New York City. Mr. Murphy married (second), in 1912, Mabel Phelps Whitford, daughter of Warren C. and Josephine Russell (Phelps) Whitford, of Southbridge. (Crane: History of Worcester County Vol 3 p. 330)
- Pease, Aaron, H.
- Jacob Edwards Library
- Collection (local):
Photographic Collection of the Jacob Edwards Library
Historic buildings--New England
Central business districts--Massachusetts--Southbridge
Architecture--United States--20th century
Southbridge (Mass.)--Pictorial works
Massachusetts > Worcester (county) > Southbridge
Rights status not evaluated.
Contact host institution for more information.
Is part of the photographic collection of the Jacob Edwards Library, Southbridge, Massachusetts. http://www.jacobedwardslibrary.org
Image from page 39 of the A.H. Pease album #2, dated June 6th, 1903