American Optical Case Plant, Lensdale, Southbridge, Massachusetts
- American Optical Case Plant, Lensdale, Southbridge, Massachusetts
A winter view of the industrial brick buildings of the American Optical Company's Case Plant, is presented. The trees lining the roadway between the railroad track and the plant are without leaves. The world-renowned optical company was first started by William Beecher in a building that stood at the corner of Central and Main streets. Mr. Beecher was a jeweler by trade and started making eyeglasses frames as part of his business. The company experienced some changes until in 1869, when it became the American Optical Company. Robert H. Cole was President, the Superintendent was H. C. Cady and the Treasurer was George Washington Wells. The American Optical moved to a premises on Chestnut Street for some time before finally locating on the banks of the Quinebaug River on Mechanic Street.
- Pease, Aaron, H.
- Jacob Edwards Library
- Collection (local):
Photographic Collection of the Jacob Edwards Library
American Optical Company
American Optical Corporation
Historic buildings--New England
Architecture--United States--19th century
Rights status not evaluated.
Contact host institution for more information.
Is part of the photographic collection of the Jacob Edwards Library Archives, Southbridge, Massachusetts. http://www.jacobedwardslibrary.org
Image from page 12 of the A.H. Pease album #2