Situated on a Lexington Street estate that the parish purchased for $9,000, Sacred Heart Academy, later renamed Rosary Academy, began as a boarding school for elementary and high school girls. Dominican sisters staffed school in Watertown. Enrollment was later extended to female day students and eventually to boys at the elementary level only. By 1917, the school?s rapid growth resulted in an addition to the original building and the construction of Saint Joseph Hall. Rosary Academy, built in 1935 and designed by Edward T.P. Graham. Rosary Academy was in operation from 1913-1980s.