The Captain John Bennett house
- The Captain John Bennett house
The Captain John Bennett House, near the Nashua River on Route 117 in North Lancaster, was built in 1717. Local legend identifies this house as a stopping place on the Underground Railroad for runaway slaves escaping to Canada. This, however, has never been substantiated. From 1872 to 1874, the house was occupied by the first Adventist missionary, J.N. Andrews, who revised his History of the Sabbath while living there.
- Name on Item:
Atlantic Union College
- Lancaster Historical Society
- Collection (local):
Photo Archives of the Lancaster (MA) Historical Society
- 1 photograph
Rights status not evaluated. You may contact host institution for more information.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives License (CC BY-NC-ND).
- Notes (date):
Date supplied by cataloger.
Title from item or accompanying materials.
Published in: Images of America, Lancaster / Heather Maurer Lennon. Charleston, SC ; Chicago IL ; Portsmouth NH ; San Francisco CA. : Arcadia Publishing, 2001