Parallel Bars Routine, c. 1915
- Parallel Bars Routine, c. 1915
A photograph of seven gymnasts holding a pose on the parallel bars during a gymnastics competition of the different YMCA state representatives.
- Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
- Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
IMLS YMCA Historical Image Collection
International Young Men's Christian Association College
- Link to Item:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
The history of Gymnastics at Springfield College goes all the way back to nearly the founding of Springfield College in 1885. Dr. James Naismith, the creator of Basketball, was an early SC Gymnast. Leslie Judd, widely considered a father of modern Gymnastics, was head coach for many years. In 1955, Frank Wolcott began coaching the men’s gymnastics team at Springfield College. Bob Cargill followed up Wolcott and coached the team for 1 season from 1981-1982. The team was then coached by Steve Posner, who remains as the head coach today. He has coached the team for 30 seasons and has an overall record of 137 wins and 206 losses. During the 1990-1991 season, Eric Weiskopf took over as head coach and Posner returned during the 1991-1992 season.