Started in 1928, the Administration Building Committee was required to get permission from the State Legislature to build on Saltonstall Park. By 1930 they started to build. Completed in 1932, there is a bust of Washington and Lincoln on the front facade of the building. The cornerstone conceals a copper box with memoranda. The Selectmen's hearing room features wainscotting and chandeliers. In the basement are the vaults and the fire alarm room (no longer housed there). Corinthian columns are recessed over the entrance. The fourth floor is set back from the lower walls. Cost, with furnishings, was $230,000. Designed by R. Clipston Sturgis.