Town Hall and Engine House.
- Town Hall and Engine House.
Engine House was behind the Town Hall. It also housed the Police Department. Engine house was built in 1871 and designed by Charles Brigham. Both were demolished in 1937. The First Parish Church is located further up Church Street behind Town Hall. Lenox Barber Shop is missing on the right of the Town Hall. Town affairs were carried on for ten years without a Town Hall. In 1846 a wooden structure close to the corner of Main and Church Streets was built. Part of Dr. Spring?s property was bought for 25> a square foot. Stone steps ran up the full width. Tall fluted columns of Corinthian style capped with carved acanthus leaves graced the front. The columns supported the front gable. Upstairs was a hall with platform and gallery, capable of seating 300 people. The first floor space was used for town offices, a couple of stores and in the back, a jail.
- Watertown Free Public Library
- Collection (local):
Watertown Town Hall
Watertown (Mass.)--Politics and government
Massachusetts--Watertown--Politics and government
Management Restrictions apply. See application form at http://watertownlib.org/research/historic-watertown/photographs
Contact host institution for more information.