Leading Democrats in foreground. Town Hall was built in 1849 and demolished 1937. Town affairs were carried on for ten years without a Town Hall. In 1846 a wooden structure close to the corner of Main and Church Streets was built. Part of Dr. Spring?s property was bought for 25> a square foot. Stone steps ran up the full width. Tall fluted columns of Corinthian style capped with carved acanthus leaves graced the front. The columns supported the front gable. Upstairs was a hall with platform and gallery, capable of seating 300 people. The first floor space was used for town offices, a couple of stores and in the back, a jail. Same year as figure 4428 Line# 1188?