No known copyright restrictions.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY).
Title from item.
The fourth meeting house was built in 1876 in the Queen Anne architectural style. The architect was L. B. Volk of New York City. The seating capacity was 800. Mount Holyoke Seminary (eventually becoming Mount Holyoke College) used the sanctuary for their graduation exercises, hence the amphitheater style of seating. The furnishings were “heavy and ornate” as seen in the photo. On March 5, 1894 a fire started over a furnace pipe and caused the church to burn to the ground in just one hour.