House was demolished in 1855. Demolished in 1880 and house built on the site by A. O. Davidson. David Bemis built the dam in 1778. In 1753, Bemis had purchased 39 acres of land on the north side of the Charles River. He became two-thirds owner of the paper mill on the south side of the river. Bemis build on the north side of the river, a grist mill and a snuff mill in 1778.