Digital Commonwealth

Hunnewell Club photographs - Hunnewell Club Caricatures -

Hunnewell Club photographs - Hunnewell Club Caricatures -

Item Information

Title:
Hunnewell Club photographs - Hunnewell Club Caricatures -
Description:
Collection consists of thirteen photographs on pasteboard backing, book excerpt of brief history of the club, printout of online record of club from Jackson Homestead Manuscript and Photograph Collection, original caricature of club members Harry Learnard, George Harris, Charles Bowen, E. S. Foster and Fred Paul by artist, Frank Collier. - Caricatures of 5 men in bowling stances. Signed Frank Collier and dated Jan 19 - 1910 - Text: Harry Learnard, Hunnewell Club; Geo. Harris, Allston Golf Club, 40 yrs a bowler; Mr. E. S. Foster, Capt. Allston Golf Club Team, starting strong on the kindling; Chas. Bowen, Allston, was right there; Fred Paul, Hunnewell Club, just waiting - Located at 84 Eldredge Street, Newton, Mass -
Creator:
Collier, Frank
Creator:
Rowe, Henry K.
Creator:
Newton Free Library
Creator:
Jackson Homestead (Newton, Mass.)
Date:
1897–1910
Format:
Drawings/Illustrations
Location:
Newton Free Library
Collection (local):
Hunnewell Club
Subjects:
Hunnewell Club (Newton, Mass.)
Clubs--Massachusetts--Newton
Stanley, Freelan Oscar, 1849-1940
Permalink:
Terms of Use:
Management Restrictions apply. Contact the Newton Free Library's Reference Department for details.
Contact host institution for more information.
Notes:
Hunnewell Club (formerly Hunnewell Hill Club of 1895) was established by Freelan O. Stanley in 1897 as a social and reading place in a 3-story building at 84 Eldredge Street at the corner of Church Street and is still standing today. Members were only admitted from the Newton Corner area, and men living farther than 4 miles from the clubhouse and all women were allowed only restricted use. Activities of the club included pool, billiards, bowling, cards, concerts, theatricals, receptions, and parties. Later the club let community organizations use its space for meetings, a dancing school, a kindergarten, and a temporary church sanctuary. The property was sold to the Pomroy Foundation in 1967, but the club kept ownership of the bowling alleys. This collection includes photographs of the interior and exterior of the clubhouse, the actors on opening night of a play performed in April, 1898, a caricature of 5 club members, and text of 2 brief histories of the club.
Language:
English
Identifier:
Newton_14
Referenced by:
http://library.minlib.net/record=b2646091