Digital Commonwealth

Hunnewell Club photographs - Hunnewell Club from Eldredge Street -

Hunnewell Club photographs - Hunnewell Club from Eldredge Street -

Item Information

Title:
Hunnewell Club photographs - Hunnewell Club from Eldredge Street -
Description:
Collection consists of thirteen photographs on pasteboard backing, book excerpt of brief history of the club, printout of online record of club from Jackson Homestead Manuscript and Photograph Collection, original caricature of club members Harry Learnard, George Harris, Charles Bowen, E. S. Foster and Fred Paul by artist, Frank Collier. - Photograph # 8 - Located at 84 Eldredge Street, Newton, Mass - Photograph studio: George H. Hastings, 348 Centre St., Newton, Mass - Text on verso: View of Hunnewell Club from Eldredge St., April 1898. Tennis courts location at right of building. Note unpaved streets and no sidewalks. City of Newton was then only 26 years old. - View of 3 story house, pillared porches, widow's walk, stone foundation -
Creator:
Collier, Frank
Creator:
Rowe, Henry K.
Creator:
Newton Free Library
Creator:
Jackson Homestead (Newton, Mass.)
Date:
1897–1910
Format:
Photographs
Location:
Newton Free Library
Collection (local):
Hunnewell Club
Subjects:
Hunnewell Club (Newton, Mass.)
Clubs--Massachusetts--Newton
Stanley, Freelan Oscar, 1849-1940
Permalink:
Terms of Use:
Management Restrictions apply. Contact the Newton Free Library's Reference Department for details.
Contact host institution for more information.
Notes:
Hunnewell Club (formerly Hunnewell Hill Club of 1895) was established by Freelan O. Stanley in 1897 as a social and reading place in a 3-story building at 84 Eldredge Street at the corner of Church Street and is still standing today. Members were only admitted from the Newton Corner area, and men living farther than 4 miles from the clubhouse and all women were allowed only restricted use. Activities of the club included pool, billiards, bowling, cards, concerts, theatricals, receptions, and parties. Later the club let community organizations use its space for meetings, a dancing school, a kindergarten, and a temporary church sanctuary. The property was sold to the Pomroy Foundation in 1967, but the club kept ownership of the bowling alleys. This collection includes photographs of the interior and exterior of the clubhouse, the actors on opening night of a play performed in April, 1898, a caricature of 5 club members, and text of 2 brief histories of the club.
Language:
English
Identifier:
Newton_01
Referenced by:
http://library.minlib.net/record=b2646091