Digital Commonwealth

1891 graduates of the Parker Street Grammar school, New Bedford, MA

1891 graduates of the Parker Street Grammar school, New Bedford, MA

Item Information

Title:
1891 graduates of the Parker Street Grammar school, New Bedford, MA
Description:
New Bedford, Massachusetts, photograph taken in 1891 of graduates of the Parker Street Grammar school. Among those in the group, which posed for the picture are Charles E. Mosher, principal of the school with a straw hat; John Thompson, son of Mrs. J. F. Thompson, owner of this picture, at Mr. Mosher's right; Charles Russell, who later lived on State Street, next to him; Rufus A. Soule, now a member of the School Committee, first boy on the left of Mr. Mosher; Miss Susan Haskins, former Kindergarten teacher at Cedar Street School, second girl from the left in the first row; Mrs. William Desmond, wife of the treasurer of co-operative banks, first girl on the left in the second row, who was formerly Miss Elizabeth Allen; Harry Gay, a builder, now in Florida, boy on extreme right; Mrs. Raymond Chase, wife of the police lieutenant, and formerly Miss Irene Washburn, is the girl in back of Mr. Mosher to the right; Miss Anna L. Jennings, then a teacher and now conducting a private school on Sycamore Street, is the girl to the left of the Negro girl in the top center; Miss Clara H. Carney, pianist, is Negro girl to right of Miss Jennings; her father gained fame at Fort Wagner when he picked up the American flag as it dropped from a wounded soldier's hands in a Civil War battle.
Date:
1926
Format:
Photographs
Genre:
Rotogravures
Portrait photographs
Group portraits
Location:
New Bedford Free Public Library
309:U7:SH12 Box 08 03 (shelf locator)
Collection (local):
Rotogravure Collection
Extent:
1 photograph : rotogravure print
Permalink:
Terms of Use:
Rights status not evaluated.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives License (CC BY-NC-ND).
CC BY-NC-ND icon
Notes (date):
Photograph taken in 1891.
Notes:
Published 7 February 1926.
Accession #:
2010_7_08_003_0002
Identifier:
M12.P22G