A postcard of Worcester Polytechnic Institute in Worcester, Massachusetts looking up from Institute Road. From left to right is Boynton Hall, the Washburn Shops and the Salisbury Laboratories. In the foreground is the Magnetic Laboratory. The Magnetic Laboratory was constructed in 1886 as an advanced magnetic and electric laboratory based on the designs by Alonzo S. Kimball, a WPI Professor. Dictated by the laws of magnetics no iron was used and the goal of the design was to leave it virtually vibration free. Unfortunately, by 1891 vibrations from a new trolley service and the addition of electric lights caused too much interference and the experiments conducted in the building were stopped. In 1921 it was became the home of the Skull, WPI's Senior honor society, and is now known as the Skull Tomb.
Is a part of the Worcester Polytechnic Institute History Collection. University Archives and Special Collections, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, George C. Gordon Library, Worcester, Massachusetts. http://www.wpi.edu/+library