Carriage and harness makers, H & M Haynes, Sturbridge
- Carriage and harness makers, H & M Haynes, Sturbridge
Henry Haynes began making and repairing carriages and wagons in Sturbridge center in 1834. The business became H & M Haynes when he and brother Melvin became partners. In the photograph, from left to right, Henry D. Haynes, William Booker, Jack Wright, Melvin Haynes, Henry M. Carpenter, John P. Haynes, Henry Haynes, William Perry, ? Trask, Harrison Craig, Lotson Harnant. The shop closed about 1910 under the name H. Haynes & Son.
- Haynes, Henry D.
Joshua Hyde Public Library
- Collection (local):
Haynes Family Album
Carriages & coaches--Massachusetts--Sturbridge--1863
Harness making and trade--Massachusetts--Sturbridge
H & M Haynes--History Sturbridge (Mass.)--History
- Photograph; 5 3/8x 4 inches
Rights status not evaluated.
Contact host institution for more information.
Part of the Haynes Family Album, Joshua Hyde Public Library Archives, Sturbridge, Massachusetts