Streetscape Southbridge Massachusetts with lady near light receptacle on Main Street
- Streetscape Southbridge Massachusetts with lady near light receptacle on Main Street
Easterly view of Main Street Southbridge circa 1907. The Central Baptist Church to the left, building began in 1864 and the doors opened June 11, 1866. This church replaced the one in the Ammidown block that was destroyed in the fire of November 14, 1863. Architect for this project was Samuel Thayer of Boston. On this site in 1801, the Poll Parish was established. The future site of the Jacob Edwards Library is located where the wooden viewing stand is placed. Residences of various architectural styles are in the background. Tram tracks for Southbridge Sturbridge Street Railway are in evidence on the unpaved foreground. Lady in hat and full length clothing walking towards the south side of Main Street. Winter scene showing tree-lined Main Street.
- Jacob Edwards Library
- Collection (local):
Photographic Collection of the Jacob Edwards Library
Historic buildings--New England
Southbridge (Mass.)--pictorial work
Rights status not evaluated.
Contact host institution for more information.
Is part of a photographic collection at Jacob Edwards Library, Southbridge, Massachusetts. http://www.jacobedwardslibrary.org.