Ladies of the Jacob Edwards Library Southbridge Massachusetts 1916
- Ladies of the Jacob Edwards Library Southbridge Massachusetts 1916
Four staff members of the Jacob Edwards Library shown leaning against the decorative wrought iron railing, standing on the stone steps, in 1916. The ladies are wearing light colored clothing - long skirts and blouses with their hair swept up. The staff at the library were Ella E. Miersch, Librarian; assisted by Mabel W. Plimpton and Ruth Beecher, as noted in the Annual Report of 1917. The Town of Southbridge appropriation, in 1916, was $5,000; the library was open for a total of 307 days and circulated 48,384 volumes. In advance of its construction, The Southbridge Press, Saturday, July 2, 1904 commented on the library as follows: "Through the generosity of Jacob Edwards, a native of Southbridge who became one of the merchant princes of the country, the town is to have a magnificent library building, one which will be in keeping with the many other splendid edifices that adorn the town. Mr. Edwards' has given $50,000 for the purpose exclusive of the site, and as soon as a suitable location is selected the work of erecting the building will begin. Mr. Edwards' benefaction is regarded with the highest appreciation by the citizens of the town, and they will feel proud of the splendid building which is to be erected."
- Pease, Aaron, H.
- Jacob Edwards Library
- Collection (local):
Photographic Collection of the Jacob Edwards Library
Women librarians--Southbridge (Mass.)--Pictorial works
Rights status not evaluated.
Contact host institution for more information.
Is part of the photographic collection of the Jacob Edwards Library, Southbridge, Massachusetts. http://www.jacobedwardslibrary.org
Image of the A.H. Pease album #3