Built during the Depression, the Harrington Memorial Hospital was opened on Labor Day, September 7, 1931. The first facility had 34 adult beds and 6 children's cribs. The brick structure was constructed by local company, F. X. Laliberte and Son, General Contractors. The twin end chimneys and hipped roof are Federal Revival in style, while the elaborate doorway is Georgian Revival. The hospital is typical of Laliberte's civic and institutional buildings which tend to have a plain brick facade relieved by an elaborate Georgian or Classical Revival entrance. Mr. and Mrs. Charles D. Harrington (of the Russell Harrington company) pledged $150,000 to the project, as early as 1929, with the sum to be matched by community contributions. Additions have been added in 1958 and 1971.
Name on Item:
Pease, A. H., Commercial Photographer, Southbridge, Mass.