Harrington Cutlery Company 1920 Marcy Street
- Harrington Cutlery Company 1920 Marcy Street
The Harrington Cutlery Co. factory building has a brick foundation and covered with wooden clapboard. In the background, the renowned triple-decker housing, unique to New England, is in evidence. Signage is painted onto the structure with the words "Dexter" Knives and Harrington Cutlery Co. A water tower sits on top of the factory. A modest brick chimney is located towards the rear of the building, in this winter scene. In 2001, the company changed name to Dexter Russell, a successor to the Harrington Cutlery Company (Dexter) and the John Russell Cutlery Company (Green River). Tracing its origins to June 18, 1818 to Henry Harrington's first business, Dexter Russell has the distinction of being the oldest, and the largest professional cutlery manufacturer in the United States.
- Jacob Edwards Library
- Collection (local):
Photographic Collection of the Jacob Edwards Library
John Russell Cutlery Company--history
Historic buildings--New England
Factories--New England--pictorial works
mills and millwork--New England--pictorial works
Rights status not evaluated.
Contact host institution for more information.
Is part of a photographic collection at Jacob Edwards Library, Southbridge, Massachusetts. http://www.jacobedwardslibrary.org.