Digital Commonwealth

First Church in Boston, 1632

First Church in Boston, 1632

Item Information

Title:
First Church in Boston, 1632
Description:
First Church in Boston, 1632. The First Parish of Boston had been organized in Charlestown in 1630 and crossed to Boston in the autumn with the Rev. John Wilson, who preached out in the open air under the trees for the first few years until August, 1632. This first meeting house stood on State Street near the present Congress Street. The roof was thatched and the walls were of clay. It was used until 1639 when a larger building was erected near the market, "the site of the recent Joy building." The Rev. William J. Budington in his "History of the First Church in Charlestown" gives this anecdote: The Rev. John Wilson's wife declined at first to cross the Atlantic; but after her husband's second return to England she consented, and an elderly kinsman of hers, a Mr. Dod, sent a messenger to deliver to her as a gift from him a brass counter. The messenger was instructed to watch how she received it and if she showed any discontent he was to give her nothing further; but if she received it gratefully for the sake of the hand it came from, the messenger was to go on to deliver to her two more successive gifts, first a silver crown-piece, and after that a gold jacobus, at the same time explaining "that such would be the dispensations of God unto her and other good people of New England, if they would be content and thankful with such little things as God at first bestowed upon them, they should in time have silver and gold enough."
Collector:
Cutler, Wolcott, 1891-1965
Date:
[ca. 1632–1925]
Format:
Photographs
Genre:
Lantern slides
Location:
Boston Public Library
Charlestown Branch Library
Collection (local):
Charlestown Lantern Slides
Subjects:
Churches
Congregational churches
First Church (Boston, Mass.)
Places:
MassachusettsSuffolk (county)BostonCharlestown
Extent:
1 photograph : transparency
Permalink:
Terms of Use:
Rights status not evaluated.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives License (CC BY-NC-ND).
CC BY-NC-ND icon
Notes (date):
Date from accompanying materials: Before 1925
Date supplied by cataloger.
Notes:
Title from materials accompanying item.
Reverend Wolcott CutlerCutler was rector at St. John’s Church from 1924 to 1959 and most likely assembled this collection during that time.
Identifier:
CHA-151-A1