Digital Commonwealth

Tide mill of Nathan Tufts

Tide mill of Nathan Tufts

Item Information

Title:
Tide mill of Nathan Tufts
Description:
Tide mill of Nathan Tufts. Mr. Tufts lived in the house later occupied by Dr. Thomas R. Lambert on Chelsea Street (Sawyer, pp. 167-68). He was originally a packer of beef, and also a tenner whose sole leather gave a good reputation to the town as well as to himself. He owned farms as far away as Medford, travelling back and forth on horseback. He was one of the founders of the Harvard Unitarian Society, and his coach and beautiful cream colored mares were seen at the door of the church every Sunday morning and afternoon.
Collector:
Cutler, Wolcott, 1891-1965
Date:
[ca. 1850–1925]
Format:
Photographs
Genre:
Lantern slides
Location:
Boston Public Library
Charlestown Branch Library
Collection (local):
Charlestown Lantern Slides
Subjects:
Mills
Places:
MassachusettsSuffolk (county)BostonCharlestown
Bunker Hill Street District
Extent:
1 photograph : transparency
Permalink:
Terms of Use:
Rights status not evaluated.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives License (CC BY-NC-ND).
CC BY-NC-ND icon
Notes (ownership):
Courtesy of Miss Jessie G. Paine
Notes (date):
Date from accompanying materials: Before 1925
Date supplied by cataloger.
Notes:
Title from materials accompanying item.
Reverend Wolcott CutlerCutler was rector at St. John’s Church from 1924 to 1959 and most likely assembled this collection during that time.
Identifier:
CHA-134-B1