Digital Commonwealth

Hull of an American man-of-war cut open amidships from stem to stern

Hull of an American man-of-war cut open amidships from stem to stern

Item Information

Title:
Hull of an American man-of-war cut open amidships from stem to stern
Description:
Hull of an American man-of-war cut open amidships from stem to stern. The sailors aloft, lined along the foot ropes of the main-yard are furling the mainsail. There are 5 decks running the length of the ship and in the stern a short sixth deck called the poop or quarters-deck where the steering is done. Directly under this highest deck are 7, the captain's cabin; and 8, his dining-room; below that again are 13, the officers' cabins and 14, their dining-room; below them is 20, the sick-bay. Near the bow of the ship, on the berth deck (second from the top), we have 9, the cook's galley, 10, the midshipmen's cabin, and 11, the sailors' berths. Below that comes the gun deck with exercise rooms and 17, the sailors' mess room. On the fourth deck down beside the large sail and cordage loft, there are 23, the prison, and various storerooms. The fifth deck down is completely for storage.
Collector:
Cutler, Wolcott, 1891-1965
Name on Item:
By Wade in Gleason's Pictorial . . .
Date:
[ca. 1851–1854]
Format:
Photographs
Genre:
Lantern slides
Location:
Boston Public Library
Charlestown Branch Library
Collection (local):
Charlestown Lantern Slides
Subjects:
Naval yards & naval stations
Battleships
Charlestown Navy Yard (Mass.)
Places:
MassachusettsSuffolk (county)BostonCharlestown
Boston Navy Yard
Extent:
1 photograph : transparency
Permalink:
Terms of Use:
Rights status not evaluated.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives License (CC BY-NC-ND).
CC BY-NC-ND icon
Notes (ownership):
Courtesy of Daddy & Jacks, 22 Bromfield St. Boston
Notes (date):
Date from accompanying materials: Before 1925
Date supplied by cataloger.
Notes:
Title from materials accompanying item.
Reverend Wolcott CutlerCutler was rector at St. John’s Church from 1924 to 1959 and most likely assembled this collection during that time.
Identifier:
CHA-121-C3