Main Street, 1908.
- Main Street, 1908.
Main Street, Town Hall to Beacon Square before the 1907 Galen Bridge changed the course of streets. MacLauthlin and Co., Watertown, took the photograph. Town affairs were carried on for ten years without a Town Hall. In 1846 a wooden structure close to the corner of Main and Church Streets was built. Part of Dr. Spring?s property was bought for 25> a square foot. Stone steps ran up the full width. Tall fluted columns of Corinthian style capped with carved acanthus leaves graced the front. The columns supported the front gable. Upstairs was a hall with platform and gallery, capable of seating 300 people. The first floor space was used for town offices, a couple of stores and in the back, a jail.
- MacLauthlin and Co.
- Watertown Free Public Library
- Collection (local):
Watertown Street Views
City and town life--Massachusetts--Watertown
Management Restrictions apply. See application form at http://watertownlib.org/research/historic-watertown/photographs
Contact host institution for more information.