Almshouse, formerly the Town Infirmary, Orchard Street, before its removal in 1931 to the rear of the school lot. The building was demolished in 1956. James Russell Lowell School in background. This is the second Almshouse, with the first one located across the street in the present-day DPW yard. The first Almshouse was destroyed by fire.
- Watertown Free Public Library
- Collection (local):
Watertown (Mass.)--Social life and customs
Poor house--Watertown (Mass.)
Orchard Street--Watertown (Mass.)
Management Restrictions apply. See application form at http://watertownlib.org/research/historic-watertown/photographs
Contact host institution for more information.
- Notes (date):