Digital Commonwealth

Frederick William Thomas, Washington, DC., autograph letter signed to Edgar Allan Poe, 14 October 1841

Viewing image 1 of 4
  • image 1
  • image 2
  • image 3
  • image 4

Item Information

Title:
Frederick William Thomas, Washington, DC., autograph letter signed to Edgar Allan Poe, 14 October 1841
Description:
Wants to submit a review of two speeches of President Tyler to Graham's Magazine. Suggests that Poe write a poetic drama in the vein of "Menfred" or "The Mask of Comus." News of [Jesse E.] Dow. Thinks Judge [Abel Parker] Upshur, the new Secretary of the Navy, might help Poe to secure an appointment. Asks if Judge Upshur or Judge [Nathaniel Beverley] Tucker is the author of The Partizan Leader.
Author:
Thomas, Frederick W. (Frederick William), 1806-1866
Addressee:
Poe, Edgar Allan, 1809-1849
Date:
October 14, 1841
Format:
Manuscripts
Letters/Correspondence
Location:
Boston Public Library
Rare Books Department
Box 16, Ms. Gris. 1037 (shelf locator)
Collection (local):
Rufus W. Griswold Papers, 1834-1857
Subjects:
American literature--19th century--History and criticism
Authors, American--19th century--Correspondence
Authors and publishers
Poets, American--19th century--Correspondence
Tyler, John, 1790-1862
Dow, Jesse E. (Jesse Erskine), 1809-1850
Upshur, A. P. (Abel Parker), 1790-1844
Tucker, Beverley, 1784-1851
Extent:
1 item
Permalink:
Terms of Use:
No known copyright restrictions.
No known restrictions on use.
Notes (acquisition):
This collection was donated to the Boston Public Library by Mrs. Rufus Griswold in 1900.
Notes (date):
Date from item or from supporting materials.
Notes:
Title supplied by cataloger.
Language:
English
Accession #:
Ms. Gris. 1037
Barcode:
39999085429163