Bridgman Cottage with Tompkins Cottage in Background
- Bridgman Cottage with Tompkins Cottage in Background
An exterior view of Bridgman and Tompkins Cottages, located on the east side of the Perkins campus. The buildings were built in the Collegiate Gothic style. "The construction is of brick and concrete with a slate roof, ornamented with gables and bays to admit light and air." Bridgman Cottage is named after Perkins student Laura Dewey Bridgman, who was the first person with deafblindness to learn language. Tompkins Cottage is named after Eugene Tompkins, who was an eminent and munificent benefactor of the school.
black and white photograph
Perkins School for the Blind
Samuel P. Hayes Research Library
- Collection (local):
Perkins Photograph Albums
Perkins Album, 1913
Perkins Institution and Massachusetts School for the Blind
- 1 photograph
Samuel P. Hayes Research Library, Perkins School for the Blind, Watertown, MA
Contact host institution for more information.
- Accession #: