This building, which opened in Lexington in 1823, originally housed the Lexington Academy. The Normal School opened on the Lexington Site as the First State Normal School on July 3rd, 1839 . Only three young women, Sarah Hawkins, Maria L. Smith, and Hanna Damon, registered that first day. Fortunately others came forward and the class of 1840 found itself filled with 25 female students. In 1844, due to space limitations, the school relocated to West Newton. Various entities used the location following the Normal School's move to West Newton. The building has undergone changes over the years, as indicated in this photograph. Today, it is Masonic Hall, still standing in Lexington Center near the common. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Publication of images from Framingham State University Archives is subject to approval and may be under copyright. Publication includes the following media: print, electronic/digital, videotape, film or microfilm. Written permission must be obtained in advance of publication by contacting the Framingham State University Archives at Archives@Framingham.edu. Fees may be assessed and charged by FSU Archives for reproduction and use.
Contact host institution for more information.