This single room served as the college's library from 1889 to 1937, after which it was moved to Dwight Hall. By the start of the college's 51st year, the rigors of higher education had intensified. Gone were the one-year courses, which were replaced with two-year and advanced four-year programs. The four-year program included courses in advanced algebra, geometry, trigonometry, surveying, chemistry, physics, and botany. Languages included Latin, French, German, and Greek. Today, the Whittemore Library is housed in its own building with not only thousands of books but also cutting edge technology that enables communication throughout the world.
Publication of images from Framingham State University Archives is subject to approval and may be under copyright. Publication includes the following media: print, electronic/digital, videotape, film or microfilm. Written permission must be obtained in advance of publication by contacting the Framingham State University Archives at Archives@Framingham.edu. Fees may be assessed and charged by FSU Archives for reproduction and use.
Contact host institution for more information.