Martin F. O'Connor was President from 1936-1961 and graduated from Boston College and Harvard University. Dwight Hall opened during his tenure. Following World War II, the need for teachers greatly increased, necessitating the creation of the Intensive Teacher Preparation Program in 1955 to address the shortage of elementary school teachers. In 1959, the school was authorized to award the B.A. degree. A year later, the name of the school was changed to the State College at Framingham. A dormitory was built in 1961 and named in honor of O'Connor.
Publication of images from Framingham State University Archives is subject to approval and may be under copyright. Publication includes the following media: print, electronic/digital, videotape, film or microfilm. Written permission must be obtained in advance of publication by contacting the Framingham State University Archives at Archives@Framingham.edu. Fees may be assessed and charged by FSU Archives for reproduction and use.
Contact host institution for more information.