Pictured is the Assembly Room in May Hall, c.1890. When the school first opened in 1839, some subject areas were approached gingerly, such as science being taught to women. This Assembly Room allowed for lectures and faculty opinions to be heard by the entire student body. May Hall was built in 1889, and was named in honor of Miss Abby W. May, the official visitor from the Massachusetts Board of Education.
Publication of images from Framingham State University Archives is subject to approval and may be under copyright. Publication includes the following media: print, electronic/digital, videotape, film or microfilm. Written permission must be obtained in advance of publication by contacting the Framingham State University Archives at Archives@Framingham.edu. Fees may be assessed and charged by FSU Archives for reproduction and use.
Contact host institution for more information.