The first building constructed on the Framingham campus, formally known as Framingham Normal School. Normal Hall housed classrooms and the administration, and was located on the present site of May Hall. Eventually, a dormitory was built in 1869 which was also called Normal Hall. When construction started on May Hall in 1888, Normal Hall was moved north of its original site and set up on timbers as a temporary facility that was described as "uncomfortable beyond expression". After May Hall opened in 1889, the Normal School Building was demolished.
Publication of images from Framingham State University Archives is subject to approval and may be under copyright. Publication includes the following media: print, electronic/digital, videotape, film or microfilm. Written permission must be obtained in advance of publication by contacting the Framingham State University Archives at Archives@Framingham.edu. Fees may be assessed and charged by FSU Archives for reproduction and use.
Contact host institution for more information.