Normal Hall, c.1860
- Normal Hall, c.1860
First building on then Framingham Normal School campus. Designed by Alexander Rice Esty, a prominent local architect, the building opened on December 15th, 1853. At the time, there were no dormitories, so students had to take up residency in nearby private homes or commute to school, many of them by train. The shortage of student housing was remedied when the first dormitory was opened in 1869.
Framingham State University, Henry Whittemore Library
Framingham State University - Archives http://www.framingham.edu/henry-whittemore-library/archives-and-special-collections/index.html
- Collection (local):
Henry Whittemore Library Collection
Publication of images from Framingham State University Archives is subject to approval and may be under copyright. Publication includes the following media: print, electronic/digital, videotape, film or microfilm. Written permission must be obtained in advance of publication by contacting the Framingham State University Archives at Archives@Framingham.edu. Fees may be assessed and charged by FSU Archives for reproduction and use.
Contact host institution for more information.