Dwight Hall, c. 1960
- Dwight Hall, c. 1960
A view of Dwight Hall in the early 1960's. On April 19th, 1838, the Massachusetts State Legislature passed a bill authorizing establishment of the normal schools. Edmund Dwight a philanthropist and member of the first Massachusetts Board of Education, donated $10,000 of his own funds to help establish the Normal Schools. This building was named in honor of Dwight, it was under construction from 1935 to 1937, and houses classrooms and administrative offices. In 1955, an auditorium and gymnasium were built as a separate wing on the back of Dwight Hall. From 1937 to 1969, Dwight Hall housed the library on the second floor.
Framingham State University, Henry Whittemore Library
Framingham State University - Archives http://www.framingham.edu/henry-whittemore-library/archives-and-special-collections/index.html
- Collection (local):
Henry Whittemore Library Collection
Publication of images from Framingham State University Archives is subject to approval and may be under copyright. Publication includes the following media: print, electronic/digital, videotape, film or microfilm. Written permission must be obtained in advance of publication by contacting the Framingham State University Archives at Archives@Framingham.edu. Fees may be assessed and charged by FSU Archives for reproduction and use.
Contact host institution for more information.