Digital Commonwealth

Normal Hall, c.1860

Normal Hall, c.1860

Item Information

Title:
Normal Hall, c.1860
Description:
The first building constructed on the Framingham campus, formally known as Framingham Normal School. Designed by Alexander Rice Esty, a prominent local architect, the building opened on December 15th, 1853. At the time, there were no dormitories, so students had to take up residency in nearby private homes or commute to school, many of them by train. The shortage of student housing was remedied when the first dormitory was opened in 1869, called the Normal Hall (Dormitory). Designed by Alexander Rice Esty, a prominent local architect, the building opened on December 15th, 1853. At the time, there were no dormitories, so students had to take up residency in nearby private homes or commute to school, many of them by train. The shortage of student housing was remedied when the first dormitory was opened in 1869, called the Normal Hall (Dormitory).
Date:
[ca. 1860]
Format:
Photographs
Location:
Framingham State University, Henry Whittemore Library
Framingham State University - Archives http://www.framingham.edu/henry-whittemore-library/archives-and-special-collections/index.html
Collection (local):
Henry Whittemore Library Collection
Subjects:
Architecture
Campus Buildings
Housing
Permalink:
Terms of Use:
Publication of images from Framingham State University Archives is subject to approval and may be under copyright. Publication includes the following media: print, electronic/digital, videotape, film or microfilm. Written permission must be obtained in advance of publication by contacting the Framingham State University Archives at Archives@Framingham.edu. Fees may be assessed and charged by FSU Archives for reproduction and use.
Contact host institution for more information.
Language:
English
Identifier:
FSU_GB_0023