The house on the right originally stood at 1560 Beacon St. and was moved up the hill in 1903. It was built for Charles D. Sias, an executive at Chase and Sanborn in 1889 and designed by Arthur Vinal. The house on the left belonged to King Gillette, inventor of the safety razor and was built in 1892 by Ben Lombard and designed by Little, Brown & Moore. Gillette moved here with his family in 1907. The house was demolished in 1944.