Boston Museum. Entrance
- Boston Museum. Entrance
- Title (alt.):
Boston Museum, Tremont St. Entrance
Boston Public Library
- Collection (local):
Boston Pictorial Archive
- Commercial Buildings > Music Halls & Theaters
Doors & doorways
Boston Museum (1847-1903)
Massachusetts > Suffolk (county) > Boston
Former site of Boston Museum
- 1 photographic print ; 5 x 7 in.
Rights status not evaluated.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives License (CC BY-NC-ND).
Title from item, from additional material accompanying item, or from information provided by the Boston Public Library.
Additional information on item: Built 1848, closed 1893, Hammatt Billings, arch.
The additional information on the item is erroneous. The Boston Museum and Gallery of Fine Arts (part natural history/wax/art museum, part theater, part zoo) opened in a building designed by Hammatt Billings in 1841. In 1843, theatrical performances began to be presented; in 1846, having outgrown the original location, the company moved into the new building at 28 Tremont, also designed by Billings, and dropped the sub-title which had long since gone out of use. It was one of the most important theatres in Boston for the second half of the 19th century. It closed in 1903. Amelia Bingham, 1869-1929, was a popular American actress/manager.
- Notes (date):
Date supplied by cataloger.
This date is inferred.
- Primary (full resolution, uncompressed)(TIF, 15.4 MB)
- Large (full resolution)(JPEG, 1.29 MB)
- Medium(JPEG, 270 KB)