Large three-story Queen Anne shingle and clapboard house with porches and a balcony, where women sit reading. A man and a women stand in the yard, and another man stands by the curb in front of a horse and carriage. A girl sits on a railing on the side porch with a dog in her lap. A watering can, lawn mower, and hose are visible. A carriage house and clotheslines are to the right. The Second Baptist Church is visible in the background. In the 1890s, the home was owned by Charles H. Richards and occupied by him, his wife Ettie, and extended family members (Harlow and Brierley). In 1900, Mrs. Elizabeth Towne purchased the home to use as her residence and the publishing headquarters of her magazine, The Nautilus.The house burned in 1910 and Towne rebuilt on the same lot.