Campus fire – bricks and other debris after the fire, December 1924
- Campus fire – bricks and other debris after the fire, December 1924
Piles of bricks and debris from the remains of the Normal School Building.
Bridgewater State University, Maxwell Library
Archives & Special Collections
- Collection (local):
Bridgewater State University Historical Photographs
State Normal School (Bridgewater, Mass.)
- 1 photographic print : b&w ; 7 x 9 cm.
The Clement C. Maxwell Library at Bridgewater State University offers public access to the materials from its archival and special collections as a contribution to education, research, and scholarship. Some materials may be protected by copyright. Reproduction of items beyond that allowed by Fair Use doctrine of the U.S. Copyright Code (section 108) requires the written permission of the Clement C. Maxwell Library and/or the copyright owners. Materials out of copyright are considered to be in the public domain.
This work is licensed for use under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial No Derivatives License (CC BY-NC-ND).
Bricks were salvaged from the building remains, some to be sold and some to be reused in the construction of the new campus buildings. Prisoners from the nearby State Farm (prison) provided cheap labor to help clear the rubble. The removal of debris proceeded fairly quickly, with some streets reopening to traffic by January 2, 1925. A bid for the construction of a new academic building and training school were accepted by the state by the summer of 1925. Bids were also accepted for the electric wiring, heating, ventilation, and plumbing. In the distance is the Unitarian Church. To the right is the rear southwest corner of Normal Hall, the administration building, that had been spared in the fire.
Digital item is part of “$1,000,000 Blaze at Bridgewater”: A Campus Transformed