Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame part of main exhibit area, May 1969
- Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame part of main exhibit area, May 1969
A slide featuring one corner of the main exhibit area of the original Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame located on Springfield College's campus. The picture was taken in May of 1969, just over a year from when the Hall opened. The peach basket that is visible in the top of the image is part of the Original Gym Replica which was a replica of the gym where basketball was first played in 1891. Basketball was first played at Springfield College, which was then called the International YMCA Training School, in the Original School Building at the corner of State St. and Sherman St. in Springfield, Massachusetts. A picture of the reenactment of the first game taking place in the hall is on an easel. The peach basket was the original hoop in the game of basketball. When Dr. James Naismith was setting up for his class to play the new game he had invented for the first time he went in search of boxes to tack on each end of the court to serve as a goal. As he tell the story in his December 1931 lecture on the beginnings of basketball he asked the school janitor for the size box he was looking for and the janitor told him he had no boxes that size but suggested peach baskets which he did have. The peach basket later transitioned to a circular metal hoop with a metal cage, then a metal hoop with a closed fabric net, and then finally to the metal hoop with an open net that we recognize in the game today.
- Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
- Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
- The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Building Records
Basketball Hall of Fame
Allied Health Sciences Building
Basketball Hall of Fame (Springfield, Mass.)
Massachusetts > Hampden (county) > Springfield
- Link to Item:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
The original Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame was constructed on the Springfield College Campus due to the college’s deep connection to the sport of basketball; from Dr. James Naismith, who invented the game while he was a faculty member at the school in 1891; to Dr. Edward Hickox, the driving force behind the Hall’s creation; and the innumerable members of the faculty who have sat on national rules committee. With the ever-growing popularity of the sport of basketball, inductees into the Hall of Fame, and visitors, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame began to outgrow its Springfield College home. In 1985 the Hall of Fame opened in a new location in Springfield and the original Hall of Fame building ownership was transferred to Springfield College. Renovations on the building began in 1987 and the building was rededicated as the Allied Health Sciences Center in April of 1989.