Digital Commonwealth

Minton Rules (1896)

Item Information

Title:
Minton Rules (1896)
Description:
“Minton Rules” is a pamphlet that was written by Winfred Emory Allen and Luther Halsey Gulick. Published in 1896 by the Triangle Publishing Company, the pamphlet provides a brief history of minton (also called ball badminton), focusing primarily on the rules, equipment, and field organization. Minton was adapted from badminton, one of the oldest games in England, “by certain Englishmen, in India, through the introduction of a worsted [wool] ball in place of the shuttlecock.” The worsted wool ball should weigh three drams (roughly three sixteenth of an ounce) and have a six and a half inch circumference. Readers could purchase minton balls from the Triangle Publishing Company for fifty cents.
Creator:
Allen, Winfred Emory, 1873-1947
Creator:
Gulick, Luther Halsey, 1865-1918
Date:
1896
Format:
Documents
Location:
Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
Series:
Rare Books Collection
Subjects:
Springfield College
Springfield College--Faculty
Springfield College--Alumni and alumnae
International Young Men's Christian Association Training School (Springfield, Mass.)
Springfield College--Sports
Allen, Winfred Emory, 1873-1947
Gulick, Luther Halsey, 1865-1918
Badminton
Places:
MassachusettsHampden (county)Springfield
Extent:
20 Pages
Link to Item:
Terms of Use:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
Publisher:
The Triangle Publishing Co.
Notes:
Winfred Emory Allen (June 6, 1873 – September 20, 1947) graduated from Springfield College in 1895. The following year, he entered Earlham College and, in addition to his studies, ran their athletics program. After graduating in 1898, he began working as assistant physical director at the University of Nebraska. Allen received his master’s degree from Lawrence College in 1904 and spent the next fifteen years teaching biology at the Nebraska State Normal School, University of Illinois, Stockton High School (California), and Fresno High School and Junior College. While teaching, he collected data about the plankton of the San Joaquin River and worked toward his Ph.D. at the University of California (Berkeley). While Allen never completed his doctorate, his work attracted William E. Ritter, the director of the Scripps Institution. Ritter invited Allen to come to Scripps. From 1917 to 1942, Allen wrote feature articles on biology for California newspapers. He called this work the California Biological Feature Service. In 1919, Allen began work at Scripps Institution for Biological Research as assistant professor of biology, having worked at Scripps the previous two summers. Allen devoted his attention almost exclusively to quantitative studies of marine phytoplankton, particularly in the waters of southern California. Allen retired from the Scripps Institution in 1943 and remained professor emeritus until 1946. For more information, see http://libraries.ucsd.edu/locations/sio/scripps-archives/x-allen.html . Dr. Luther Halsey Gulick was born to missionary parents in Honolulu, Hawaii in 1865. In 1887, Gulick came to Springfield College, where he founded the physical education department. He also developed the school's inverted triangle symbol, which represents the whole man - in spirit, mind and body, and remains the Springfield College's seal today. The triangle was later adopted by the YMCA as their symbol. After leaving the Training School in 1900, Gulick became the principal of the Pratt Institute High School in Brooklyn and then went on to serve as the director of physical training in the public schools of New York. In 1907, Gulick organized the child hygiene department of the Russell Sage Foundation and served as director until 1913 when he resigned due to failing health. Gulick and his wife Charlotte founded the Camp Fire Girls in 1910, a youth movement for girls which emphasized camping, outdoor activities and preparing women for work outside the home. Today it is known as Camp Fire USA and offers programs for both boys and girls. Gulick died at his summer home in Casco, Maine in 1918.
Small hole in cover page; minor wear along edges; bring has been repaired.
Language:
English
Identifier:
minton-rules-1896-gv1017-m6-a5