Digital Commonwealth

Junior Gym Class (c. 1903)

Item Information

Junior Gym Class (c. 1903)
According to a note on the case, this glass negative shows the Junior Gym Class of 1903 at the International YMCA Training School, now called Springfield College. The students shown, along with their class years, are [top row, L to R] John H. Gray (1904), George B. Gilman (1905), Elmer E. Thompson (1904), Charles F. Cunningham (1904), Samuel E. Abbott (1904), Herbert Moule (1904), Howard W. Russell (1904), [2nd row] Nelson S. Jewett (1900, instructor), Wiliam G. Currier (1904), Walter A. Giles (1906), Edward S. Elliott (1904), Roy F. Seymour (1904), Leroy S. Farnum (1903), James A. Rath (1904), unidentified student, Frederick F. Bugbee (1903), Noble P. Randel (1904), Floyd T. Hayes (1904), Frederick A. Henckel (1904), James W. Stafford (1904), Gilbert F. Thompson (1903), [3rd row, kneeling] Joseph T. Flanagan (later changed name to Joseph T. Curtin) (1904), Charles R. Foster (1905), Arthur B. Dawson (1905), Erich L. Moraller (1904), [4th row, seated on floor] Emile A. Barrier (1904), Augustus Maier (1904), Charles T. Rea (1904), Charles Bonnamaux (1904), William E. Lewis (1904), David Wilder (1903), T. Bruce Kirkpatrick (1907), and George S. Maxwell (1905). This image is virtually the same as GN-029 with the exception of an additional student seated in the bottom row: T. Bruce Kirkpatrick.
Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
Glass Negative Collection
International Young Men's Christian Association Training School (Springfield, Mass.)
Springfield College
Springfield College--Alumni and alumnae
Gray, J. Henry
Gilman, George B.
Thompson, Elmer E.
Cunningham , Charlies F.
Abbott, Fredrick C.
Moule, Herbert
Russell, Howard W.
Jewett, Nelson J.
Currier, William G.
Giles, Walter A.
Elliott, Edward S.
Seymour, Roy F.
Farnum, Leroy S.
Rath, James A.
Bugbee, Frederick F.
Randel, Noble P.
Hayes, Floyd T.
Henckel, Frederick A.
Stafford, James W.
Thompson, Gilbert F.
Flanagan, Joseph T.
Curtin, Joseph T.
Foster, Charles R.
Dawson, Arthur B.
Moraller, Erich L.
Barrier, Emile A.
Maier, Augustus
Rea, Charles T.
Bonnamaux, Charles F.
Lewis, William E.
Wilder, David
Maxwell, George S.
Kraft, Frederick A.
Group portraits
MassachusettsHampden (county)Springfield
Link to Item:
Terms of Use:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
Springfield College