13th War Work Conference (September 1918)
- 13th War Work Conference (September 1918)
This photograph shows the secretaries who attended the 13th War Work Conference, hosted by the International YMCA College, now known as Springfield College, from September 4-30, 1918. They are standing on the steps of Marsh Memorial and are all holding up a small book or pamphlet. The War Work Group was formed to further and enlarge the present work of the Army and Navy department in meeting the needs of the enlisted men. Springfield College was chosen as one of the training agencies to prepare and equip men for this special task which was headed by Arthur Rudman.
- Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
- Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
Armed Forces Collection
International Young Men's Christian Association College
World War, 1914-1918
Young Men's Christian Association of North America
- Link to Item:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
On May 25, 1912 excavation began for Springfield College’s Marsh Memorial Library. The building was dedicated on October 18, 1913 with William Howard Taft, the 27th President of the United States, as the featured speaker. The library was named after Edward Williams Marsh, who donated over half of the required funds. The new library was designed in the gothic style, with red brick and brownstone and terra cotta trimmings laid in red cement. In 1971, Babson Library replaced Marsh Memorial. The building was renovated for use as a chapel and to house the President’s Office, the Office of Academic Affairs, and the Department of Public Safety.
This photograph is mounted on cardboard.