Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
The Likava castle ruins stand on one of the rocky peaks of the Choc Mountains, along edge of the river Vah. This relatively modest castle was built sometime between 1335 and 1341 to guard the primary crossing point of the river Vah. The castle also protected the trade route from Vah Basin to Orava and further to Poland. In the second half of the 15th century, the castle was rebuilt as a sumptuous private residence, and a four-story palace was added to the northwestern corner. In 1474, after Liptovsky castle was demolished, Likavka castle became the center of the large royal property in the western part of Liptov. Starting in 1478, the castle belonged to John, the illegitimate son of King Matthias Corvinus. At the turn of the 15th and 16th century, the castle belong to Jan Zapolsky. Tokelyis was the last to hold the castle, which was ultimately destroyed in 1707 by the Austrian army. Its architecture is a valuable testament to the late Gothic and renaissance period.
Text on border reads, "Hrad Likava in Ruzomberok."