Laurence Locke Doggett Center Dedication Audio Tape (1972-11-18)
- Laurence Locke Doggett Center Dedication Audio Tape (1972-11-18)
This is recording of an audio tape of the Springfield College Laurence Locke Doggett Center dedication that took place on November 18, 1972. The digital file is 45 minutes and 50 seconds long. The tape starts out with Attallah A. Kidess, the director of the International Center. He is followed by Emery W. Seymour, Wilbert E. Locklin, Charles R. Weckwerth, Emmanuel B. Osei-Antwi, Paul U. Congdon, and Holmes N. VanDerbeck who gives the prayer of Dedication. Charles R. Weckwerth talks briefly about Laurence Locke Doggett and his legacy. In addition, he also talks about Dr. Kidess and his history and legacy. Osei-Antwi talks about Springfield College's legacy on the world stage. This copy of the dedication is exactly the same, except in length and other minor differences to rg105-01-b-01-14-001.
November 18, 1972
Audio recordings (nonmusical)
- Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
- Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
Kidess, Attallah A.
Osei-Antwi, Emmanuel B.
Weckwerth, Charles F.
Locklin, Wilbert E. (Wilbert Edwin)
Doggett, L. L. (Laurence Locke), 1864-1957
- magnetic tape audio recording; 00:46:29
- Link to Item:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
The International Center was first established in 1965 and was dedicated to Springfield College President Laurence Locke Doggett, President of the college for forty years. The International Center originally consisted of a suite of three newly decorated rooms, of which the main one was named "The Laurence Locke Doggett Room," on the first floor of Alumni Hall. The International Center officially became the Laurence Locke Doggett International Center on November 18, 1972. At that time it was located in Marsh Memorial Building on the second floor. Dr. Attalah A. Kidess, the center's first director, believed it would serve to centralize SC's international outreach. A statement that has proved true well into the 2010s. Though its location has moved throughout the years, it remains the center for Springfield College's International Outreach.
There is another copy of this dedication ceremony. The only differences appear to be in timing and quality. It was decided that each would be saved in case the differences proved important. To listen to the other tape, see rg105-01-b-01-14-001;