Digital Commonwealth

Makes Gift to New SC Center

Item Information

Makes Gift to New SC Center
A newspaper article clipping with the title of "Makes Gift to New SC Center." The clipping has a photo of Olive E. Doggett, wife of Laurence L. Doggett, and Dr. Attallah A. Kidess, Director of the Springfield College International Center. They are seated in chairs with a table or piano behind them. On the piano are photographs of Springfield College President Laurence L. Doggett. The clipping is in regards to the $15,000 that Mrs. Doggett donated to the center in honor of her husband. The clipping is not dated but is thought to have come in 1965, with the establishment of the Center in Alumni Hall.
Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
International Center b
Springfield College
Springfield College--International
Kidess, Attallah A.
Doggett, Olive E.
Doggett, L. L. (Laurence Locke), 1864-1957
MassachusettsHampden (county)Springfield
Link to Item:
Terms of Use:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
Springfield College
The International Center was first established in 1965 and was dedicated to Springfield College President Laurence Locke Doggett, President of the college for forty years. The International Center originally consisted of a suite of three newly decorated rooms, of which the main one was named "The Laurence Locke Doggett Room," on the first floor of Alumni Hall. The International Center officially became the Laurence Locke Doggett International Center on November 18, 1972. At that time it was located in Marsh Memorial Building on the second floor. Dr. Attalah A. Kidess, the center's first director, believed it would serve to centralize SC's international outreach. A statement that has proved true well into the 2010s. Though its location has moved throughout the years, it remains the center for Springfield College's International Outreach.