Digital Commonwealth

Dedication of the Laurence Locke Doggett Room, Oct. 30, 1965

Item Information

Title:
Dedication of the Laurence Locke Doggett Room, Oct. 30, 1965
Description:
This is the four page program for the Dedication of the Laurence Locke Doggett Room in the International Center in Alumni Hall. The ceremony was held on October 30, 1965. Inside it contains Doggett's favorite blessing, the schedule of events, and the speakers.
Creator:
Springfield College
Date:
October 30, 1965
Format:
Documents
Location:
Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
Series:
International Center https://cdm16122.contentdm.oclc.org/digital/collection/p15370coll2/id/20924 b
Subjects:
Alumni Hall
Springfield College
Springfield College--International
Springfield College--Presidents
Doggett, L. L. (Laurence Locke), 1864-1957
Doggett, Olive E.
Dedications
Programs
Places:
MassachusettsHampden (county)Springfield
Extent:
4 Pages
Link to Item:
Terms of Use:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
Publisher:
Springfield College
Notes:
The International Center was first established in 1965 and was dedicated to Springfield College President Laurence Locke Doggett, President of the college for forty years. The International Center originally consisted of a suite of three newly decorated rooms, of which the main one was named "The Laurence Locke Doggett Room," on the first floor of Alumni Hall. The International Center officially became the Laurence Locke Doggett International Center on November 18, 1972. At that time it was located in Marsh Memorial Building on the second floor. Dr. Attalah A. Kidess, the center's first director, believed it would serve to centralize SC's international outreach. A statement that has proved true well into the 2010s. Though its location has moved throughout the years, it remains the center for Springfield College's International outreach.
Language:
English
Identifier:
rg105-01-b-01-01-001