The dedication of The Laurence Locke Doggett International Center program (November 18, 1972)
- The dedication of The Laurence Locke Doggett International Center program (November 18, 1972)
This is a four-page program for the dedication of The Laurence Locke Doggett International Center that took place on November 18, 1972. The cover has a photograph of Laurence Doggett and Olive Doggett. The second page has acknowledges that the center was made possible by a generous donation made by Olive Doggett. Finally the document lists the schedule of events and who the speakers were.
- Springfield College
November 18, 1972
- Springfield College Archives and Special Collections
- Collection (local):
College Archives Digital Collections
Doggett, L. L. (Laurence Locke), 1864-1957
Doggett, Olive E.
- 4 Pages
- Link to Item:
Text and images are owned, held, or licensed by Springfield College and are available for personal, non-commercial, and educational use, provided that ownership is properly cited. A credit line is required and should read: Courtesy of Springfield College, Babson Library, Archives and Special Collections. Any commercial use without written permission from Springfield College is strictly prohibited. Other individuals or entities other than, and in addition to, Springfield College may also own copyrights and other propriety rights. The publishing, exhibiting, or broadcasting party assumes all responsibility for clearing reproduction rights and for any infringement of United States copyright law.
Contact host institution for more information.
The International Center was first established in 1965 and was dedicated to Springfield College President Laurence Locke Doggett, President of the college for forty years. The International Center originally consisted of a suite of three newly decorated rooms, of which the main one was named "The Laurence Locke Doggett Room," on the first floor of Alumni Hall. The International Center officially became the Laurence Locke Doggett International Center on November 18, 1972. At that time it was located in Marsh Memorial Building on the second floor. Dr. Attalah A. Kidess, the center's first director, believed it would serve to centralize SC's international outreach. A statement that has proved true well into the 2010s. Though its location has moved throughout the years, it remains the center for Springfield College's International Outreach.